The BTR Liverpool Vitality half marathon and 10-mile race happens in April and was one of my most enjoyable races. Whilst small races give you an opportunity to get a good place, nothing beats the atmosphere of a big city race. Liverpool had around 4020 people involved so a pretty large race with a scenic course route through the streets of Liverpool and a generous goodie bag – I managed to match my PB to the second (DAMN!!!), placing 6th overall lady and 2nd in my age gender category. If you’re looking for a half marathon to enter I’d recommend Liverpool – checkout my review below:

liverpool race

COURSE ROUTE & SCENERY: 5/5

I loved the route and course on the Liverpool Half marathon starting and finishing on the docks in the shadow of the Liver Building in the city centre. The course went through a series of lovely parks including Sefton Park before bursting out onto the promenade and passing through the Liverpool Marina – it was a route to distract you from the pain that’s for sure and great support along the way! A few more water stations would have been better and the option for an isotonic drink wouldn’t have gone a miss on the route but I couldn’t fault it (minus the hill at the beginning – for us hill haters).

ORGANISATION: 4.5/5

Apart from toilet ques that almost meant I missed the start (me and my child like bladder pick the worst times!) the organisation was pretty good – I picked my race number up on the day because I entered two days prior to the event and picking up the number couldn’t have been simpler. There were also stationary buses for baggage which was fuss free as you all you needed to remember was which bus you put your stuff on. The only thing I would knock a half a point of for is the water stations – I must have missed the first one so it wasn’t very visible and then the water was in bottles with open caps/screw off lids – so you wore more water than you managed to drink …. I think sports caps should be a compulsory feature of hydration in races!

PB POTENTIAL: 4/5

Nice race – there was some challenging hills near the start and the wind along the seafront towards the ends may have been challenging for some but overall the course was good and I think a good course for a pb potential – I matched my PB to the very second!

VALUE FOR MONEY: 5/5

Excellent value for money – a lovely route through parks in Liverpool and then out onto the seafront and a nice goodie bag to finish. The only thing I’d maybe say is the parking is local in Liverpool so if you don’t know the free spots then the main car park advertised on the website is pretty expensive and on the day the website said these would be at a discounted rate but I recall paying about £9 for the 4 hours – so not so cheap there!

Finisher Goodie Bags: 4/5

I like the Liverpool Vitality goodie bag and on the day it seemed like you got quite a lot – some cool things in the bag including graze crackers, 2 bags of Ritz cracker crisps, Hair Wax called Fudge, mini sure men’s deodorant and galaxy chocolate & raisin shot pack. However, one thing I would say is the race packs always seem to contain products for men whether its shower gel or deodorant or hair care – there never seems to be female specific products in there!

BEGINNER FRIENDLINESS: 5/5

Great race lots of different abilities and a lovely course in a busy and popular city – so plenty to do before and after I’ recommend this race for any beginner and non-beginner plus you had the option to do 10-mile vs half marathon so for those not quite half marathon ready 10 miles is a good alternative.

OVERALL RATING: 5/5

I personally loved the Liverpool 2017 half marathon there was quite a good atmosphere throughout and it was the route that made it for me – lovely parks and the seafront! Plus, a great goodie bag and I got to meet up with some friends from my previous running club Vale Royal so that made it an enjoyable day overall – if you want to enter you can through their website just click here.

